Just another WordPress.com site

Week 1 Fantasy Football Recap

The” Living Legends” are off to a great start this year with a week 1 thrashing of team “The Angus Beef” 267-181.  Tony Romo, Brandon Marshall, Ray Rice, and Steven Ridley really carried my squad this week.  I debated back and forth whether to start Ridley or rookie RB David Wilson and I’m glad I chose Ridley.  Wilson struggled Week 1 against the Cowboys.  He gained 71 kickoff return yards but was a non-factor in the running game and fumbled on his 2nd carry of the game.  It could be a while before coach Tom Coughlin trusts him to give him any significant playing time, but I’m optimistic because he is a talented player.  Dwight Freeney was another disappointment for my fantasy roster, he injured his ankle in the 1st half against the Bears and didn’t return to the game.  Hopefully he can bounce back from his injury because I am counting on him to produce big numbers for me this year.

This week in free agency I picked up TE Martellus Bennett, DE Derrick Morgan, DT Sedrick Ellis, and CB Buster Skrine.  Bennett produced 14 fantasy points in Week 1 and will serve as a good backup.  Morgan and Ellis were on my radar during the Fantasy Draft and I decided to pick them up after releasing B.J. Raji and Cullen Jenkins for poor performances.  I kind of went out on a limb picking up CB Buster Skrine.  I don’t know much about the second year Cleveland Brown, but he played very well against the Eagles posting 8 tackles and 1 pass defense.  Hopefully he can provide quality depth for me in the secondary.
Team “E. Saints Finest” is up this week.  He has a pretty decent squad, featuring Eli Manning, Ahmad Bradshaw, and Reggie Wayne so it should be a little closer than last week’s blowout.  Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

