Just another WordPress.com site

Week 3 Fantasy Football Update

September 25, 2012

In Week 3 I suffered my first loss to team “The Angus Beef”.  The Living Legends actually did pretty well, scoring 226 points but monster games from Christian Ponder (42 points) and Jamaal Charles (40 points) was too much to overcome.  Despite the loss I’m still tied for 1st in the division and I remain confident in my squad.

Fantasy Studs

Ray Rice:  Rice continues to put up solid fantasy numbers this season.  He has scored at least 20 fantasy points a week.  In the Week 3 against the Patriots, Ray had 150 total yards and 1 TD and scored 27 points.

K.J. Wright:  Wright and the Seattle Seahawks defense have been stellar this season.  Their dominance was on display of Monday night against the Green Bay Packers.  K.J. Wright has been a tackling machine this season, and had 9 tackles, 2 assists last night.  Wright has been one of the more productive linebackers in fantasy football.  So far he has been a hidden gem for me the first few weeks of the season, until I picked him up via free agency last week.

Martellus Bennett:  Bennett seems to revived his career with Eli Manning and the NY Giants.  He has scored a touchdown in each game this season.  Against the Panthers on Thursday night, Bennett scored 19 fantasy points.  He will no doubt be my starter for the rest of the season.

Fantasy Duds

Tony Romo:  This season, Tony Romo has found a way to frustrate me every Sunday.  His has been very inconsistent since the Cowboys’ Week 1 win against the NY Giants.  Against the Buccaneers, Romo had 283 yards passing, but threw an interception, fumbled twice, and failed to throw a touchdown.  I expect Romo to carry my squad and put up big numbers.  Hopefully for the Living Legends sake, Tony can find a way to turn it around.

Steven Ridley:  After a good start to the season, Ridley ran into the Baltimore buzz-saw.  He was virtually ineffective and had 13 carries for only 37 yards.  Next up is the Buffalo Bills whose defense has struggled.  I expect Steven Ridley to have a bounce back game.  With Tom Brady at QB, I don’t expect Ridley to put up Ray Rice numbers, but I do think he is capable of averaging 14-19 Fantasy points a game.

Morris Claiborne:  Big things were expected of Claiborne since the Cowboys drafted him in the 1st round.  However, his fantasy impact has been minimal and he has yet to find his niche in the Cowboys defense.  After producing only 14 points in 3 weeks, Claiborne’s days on the Living Legends squad are numbered…

Free Agency

When evaluating my fantasy team from week to week, I want to put myself in a position to maximize my point potential.  After watching DL Bruce Irvin’s performance on Monday night, I made it an priority to put him on my squad.  Not only is he a rookie, he is a productive rookie.  Last night was his coming out party, with 2 sacks on Aaron Rodgers.  I expect him to receive more snaps as the season progresses and he will be a key part of my squad down the stretch.  CB Josh Norman is another rookie who has gotten my attention.  I decided to go with production over name and replaced CB Morris Claiborne with Norman.  Josh is now a starter opposite Chris Gamble for the Carolina Panthers.  Eli tested the rookie early and often Thursday night but Norman hung in there.  He produced his best fantasy game of the year, and scored 20 points.  I expect similar production going forward, because opponents will try to pick on him, which will increase his tackle and interception opportunities.

Team “Don’t Tripp” is up next, stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

