Just another WordPress.com site

Turn off your TV, and LIVE!

February 7, 2013

Diary Of A Sports Fanatic

“Turn off your TV, and LIVE!”

A few weeks ago… I glanced at my bookshelf and realized I had 15 books that I had either started to read but didn’t finish, or books that I wanted to read and just haven’t got around to them. Each book is fascinating (well at least to me anyway), from “Christianity before Christ” by John G. Jackson to “Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention”  by Manning Marable. I have a really hectic schedule between grad school, work, and extra curricular activities, which means something had to give. Television was the first thing that came to mind. All of the pointless commercials that have nothing to do with anything, advertising products that are detrimental to our lives.

**FYI If you have to advertise your product, you have to convince people of something**

I watch my younger brothers and sister, often becoming mesmerized by the television. All of the bright lights and commotion captivates them, while leaving them helplessly staring like zombies. Then I started to get upset, “Why was I wasting my precious moments of life watching a box!!!?” There are so many lands to be discovered, so many people to meet, so many untapped  experiences waiting for me!

The last straw was the Super Bowl… I had went over to a friend’s apartment from high school, to watch unfortunately the last professional football game until August. I wanted the Seahawks to win, but that was ridiculous! The game was 22-0 at half, but it was over after the 1st quarter. Seattle was clearly the superior team. And to top it off, the commercials were horrible. I saw Tim Tebow way too many times, and Bruce Willis looked like a creep. The only good commercials were for Maserati, a car I clearly can’t afford (which upset me even more).

After soaking all of this in, I decided that TV was going to be drastically reduced in my life. It’s an entire universe out there waiting for me, and I plan to explore every nook and cranny. I encourage you all to do the same.

Here is some mind engaging information to absorb outside of media television:

**I will update once I discover more**

Neflix:

“The One Percent”

“Frankensteer”

“Food Inc.”

“Forks over Knives”

“The Secret”

“I Am”

“Marley”

Other Documentaries/Movies:

Hidden Colors 2

Powers of Ten

How to overcome laziness

KRS-ONE: Hip Hop Beyond Entertainment

Books:

“They Came Before Columbus” – Ivan Van Sertima

“Christianity Before Christ” – John G. Jackson

“Dred Scott’s Revenge: A Legal History of Race and Freedom in America” – Andrew P. Napolitano

Websites/Blog:

http://thebeautifulkind.com

Leave a comment